19. November 2018

Five countries stand with Serbia

Five countries have joined Serbia and the request to remove the vote on Pristina's membership in Interpol from the agenda of the institution's General Assembly. These countries are China, Spain, Cyprus, Argentina, and Suriname, Tanjug said it learned on Monday. The vote should take place tomorrow, November 20. Earlier today in Dubai, where the General Assembly is taking place, Interior Minister Nebojsa Steganovic said that when it comes to Kosovo's admission, the Assembly's politicization was continuing. He said the intention was to confuse the states as to the manner of voting, and that it is being stated t will be possible to gain insight into the results - "while knowingly leaving out the fact that this does not apply to the secret vote itself." "In addition to unclear notifications, which are not merely untimely, a procedure is announced (according to which) if a vote results in the so-called Kosovo failing to gain the required majority, then a break will be made, and after the break, a new vote would take place," Stefanovic said. "That is completely contrary to the rules that clearly state two votes would be held, without mentioning any breaks. It is obvious that all attempts will be made to ensure that the required majority is secured during that break, should it be missing in the first ballot," explained the minister, who heads the Serbian delegation in Dubai.a At:

New Europe


Stema Guide